Facebook has rolled out a new feature that allows users to lock their profiles. This feature is available only in some countries. Hence, this feature is available only in selected countries like India and has not been made universally accessible yet. On Facebook locked profile is an advantageous security option, which gives the users more control in the management of their profile and the content they upload.
With an increase in online harassment, a threat to online privacy, updated security measures become necessary. So, users might prefer to have their Facebook profile locked to protect themselves from potential security threats from strangers on Facebook. Therefore, one must know how to lock Facebook profile, in order to be equipped against such unlawful social media practices that are becoming rampant every day.
If you are thinking, “how do I lock my Facebook profile? Is it secure enough?” do not worry because we will address all your questions here. In this article, you will not only find a guide on how to lock your profile on Facebook, but a brief discussion of this new feature. Moreover, this will help you decide for yourself whether you want to avail it.
Facebook profile lock: A brief overview of this new security feature
With this new security update, Facebook has added advanced security layers over preexisting security features such as the Profile picture lock. Executives from Facebook have stated that this feature has been developed for India based users, especially women, due to the sudden spike in cases of online harassment.
If you are willing to try this feature out, you must be wondering, “how to lock my Facebook profile?” Before we get to that, we recommend you go through a brief overview of this new feature. Hence this will explain the changes, the advantages, and the possible disadvantages of having a locked profile. Facebook, additionally, through this new feature, allows you to hide your profile from people who are not your friends on Facebook.
How will your profile appear to someone who is not on your friend list?
- That person will not be able to view, share or download your profile picture
- They cannot open, share, or download your cover photo.
- Your stories will not be visible to them.
- They will not be able to view the recent or older posts on your timeline.
- They will not be able to view the photos or albums in your profile.
- Only a part of your about info will be visible to them.
However, the person can send you a friend request if they want to view your profile and get to know you better.
Before we tell you how to lock your Facebook profile, consider the possible advantages and disadvantages of using a profile lock.
- Protection of online harassment by strangers on Facebook.
- More control over your personal information.
- All your updates will be visible to people who are your friends on Facebook. Moreover, you will not be able to make public posts.
- Might reduce the overall reach of your profile.
Next up we tell you the process that is required if you want to know how to make Facebook profile locked.
How to lock your profile on Facebook? Steps you need to know.
Now, how do you lock your Facebook profile? Easy, just follow these simple steps.
- Go to your Facebook profile from the Facebook homepage.
- Select the drop-down menu under your name (appears like …)
- Click on ‘Lock Profile’
- Tap on the ‘Lock your profile’ option at the bottom of the page.
- A message, “You’ve locked your profile. Only your friends can see the photos and posts on your timeline.” will appear on your screen. Hence, click OK to proceed.
We hope this article was of use to you. For more details on how to lock your profile on Facebook, you can also visit the Help Center page by Facebook.